what was that noise?

And so I am trapped here in so much noise. I think for the first time I am beginning to see a few things a little clear. It has only taken me 25 years.  This quiet street. There is not much happening, then all of a sudden I hear a bang, it is really loud, what could that be where did it come from?

I am a little worried but really curious, it was really loud. We don’t have guns here in Australia so I don’t think I have ever heard a gun up close before. But that noise was right there, I can still here it ringing in my ears. I unlock the front door, hurry down the stairs with my robe on. Bare feet on the grass and I am looking around. There are other people from the street also out, and I guess they also heard that noise. I catch a few peoples eyes and can see the confusemnet in their face. They are wondering what it was. The street is really quiet except for a few ruffles of footsteps on pavement and a few words spoken.

We all heard it. And there was something strange and compelling about it that we had to find out. I walk onto the road and look on down the street. A it is late afternoon and the long streaks of the orange grapefruit sky is drawn out over the houses. And all I can think of is, what was that noise. I walk down the street, there are people out at all of the houses, for such a quiet street I never see this many people out at the one time.

Usually this street is so quiet that I could sit on the grass in the front yard for most of the day and maybe a few cars and about 6 people would pass. And that is a whole day, there are more than 6 people that live on this street I would say in the high 60s and that is this street this whole suburb is teaming and bursting with… nothing really everyone stays inside. But not tonight.

One thought on “what was that noise?

  1. Pingback: The noise | BENT ON LOVE

Leave a Reply

